Greek Omelette with a Side of Ham

Good morning and happy November! I don’t know about you, but it sure takes me a moment to get used to day lights savings time every year. Regardless, I absolutely love November. It is one of my favorites, for many reasons. I love November because it is Fall, and Fall is my favorite season. My boyfriend, now husband started dating in November. We were also married two years later in November, and I always look forward to Thanksgiving. It’s such a festive holiday that can be spent as an intimate family gathering to an extravagant family affair.

Since it is officially November, and becoming the cooking/baking season, I thought I would take this month to share many of my homemade recipes.

Today, I will be sharing my Greek Omelette with a Side of Ham recipe!

What You Need

Medium frying pan

Aluminum foil

Oil or cooking spray

2 eggs

4lb ham pre-sliced

Shredded cheddar cheese

Feta cheese crumbles

Pitted kalamata olives

Fresh spinach

Red onion

Black pepper

Basil

Hummus (optional)

Avocado (optional)

Small 8×8 pan

What You Do…

1. First remove ham from wrapping and place in a 8×8 pan. Add a little water to the bottom of the pan to ensure it stays juicy. Place aluminum foil over top of ham and around edges of pan creating a tent. Preheat oven to 375° and cook for 20 minutes.

* Disclaimer, I bought my ham from my local grocery store, and it was fully cooked and unthawed. I would recommend following the instructions on the ham you purchase for the best result.

2. Once ham is almost finished cooking, place frying pan on a burner and spray with oil or cooking spray. Turn burner on to a medium heat.

3. Crack two eggs and break the yolks by whisking with a fork. You can do this in a bowl, and then pour the eggs into the frying pan or crack eggs directly into frying pan. Allow eggs to cook as flat and level to the bottom of the pan as possible, creating a circle shape.

4. Chop omelette ingredients including, kalamata olives, spinach leaves, and red onion.

5. Once eggs look mostly cooked, start placing spatula underneath the edges of the eggs. Doing this will make it easier to fold the omelette. Place spinach, kalamata olives, onion, and cheddar cheese on one side of the eggs. Let sit for 30 seconds or until there is no more runny egg.

6. Check on ham in the oven around this time as it should be finished cooking. Remove from oven, and pull back foil so it can cool.

7. Once eggs look cooked, fold the side of the eggs without ingredients, over the side with ingredients, creating a half circle/ shape of the omelette. Let sit for another minute, turn off heat and sprinkle black pepper, basil and feta cheese crumbles.

8. Slide omelette gently on to plate (this step can be tricky). Next take two or tree slices of ham and place them on the plate.

9. For a little more flavor, feel free to add some hummus or avacado on top.

Greek Omelette with a Side of Ham

Enjoy!

Leave a comment